Working Groups

 

Issue-area Working Groups provide human rights defenders with an opportunity to work collectively by sharing information, working on joint projects, and pooling resources and information to robustly engage in a process to protect human rights in the United States. Working Groups meet via video or phone calls as often as needed to build relationships, strategize, create work plans and provide support for its members.

 

As we progress towards the UPR in November continued advocacy is critical.  Through Working Groups you can organize to target your advocacy. USHRN has tools to help you learn which countries are most likely to advocate for your issues based on their past UPR recommendations or their own policies and priorities.  You will then reach out to representatives from those countries and provide them with key information that they can question the U.S. government about during the review.

 

Create a 1-page document on your issue(s) of interest for your working group to give to government representatives at the embassies and missions. Providing this information will ensure that your issues are brought to their attention.

 

In order to join a Working Group please contact the Working Group Chair AND  CC the UPR Coordinator
Kerry McLean: kmclean@ushrnetwork.org.

 

Artificial Intelligence

Children's Rights

Chair: 

Julia Perez, julia.ecl.perez@hotmail.com

Criminal Justice

Chairs:

Jamil Dakwar, ACLU, jdakwar@aclu.org

Nadia Ben-Youssef, nbenyoussef@ccrjustice.org

Decolonization

Chairs: 

Dominic Latty, dclatty@gmail.com
Genevieve Whitaker, genwhitaker4humanity@gmail.com 

Education

Chair:
Ramon Montano, ramon@montanomarquez.com

Equality and Non-Discrimination

Chair:

Natalie Collier, ncollier@loveblackgirls.org

Health

Chair:
Mary Gerisch, marygerisch@gmail.com

Housing, Water & Sanitation

Chairs:

Eric Tars, etars@nlchp.org

Rob Robinson, rob.robinson423@gmail.com

Immigration

Chair:

Eduardo Canales, ecsouthtexashumanrights@gmail.com

Information Access

Chairs: Rebecca Hankins, rhankins@tamu.edu
Paula Buchanan, Paula_buchanan@tulanealumni.net

National Human Rights Cities Alliance

Chairs:

Jackie Smith, jackie@mayfirst.org

Joshua Cooper, joshuacooperhawaii@gmail.com

People of African Descent

Chair:

Vickie Casanova-Willis, vickie.casanova@yahoo.com

Police Violence

Chair:
Crista Noel, cnoel@thewapb.org

Sex Workers' Rights

Sexual & Gender Rights

Chair:

Ricci Joy Levy, ricci@woodhullfoundation.org

Chair:

Jeanne Mirer, jmirer@mmsjlaw.com 

Women's Rights

Chair: 

Denice Labertew, feministadvocate1@gmail.com

Workers' Rights

Voting Rights

Chair: 

Mary Gerisch, marygerisch@gmail.com

(404) 588-9761

250 Georgia Ave. SE, Ste. 330, Atlanta, GA 30312
All photos on this page are courtesy of Balthazar Beckett.