Working Groups

 

Issue-area Working Groups provide human rights defenders with an opportunity to work collectively by sharing information, working on joint projects, and pooling resources and information to robustly engage in a process to protect human rights in the United States. Working Groups meet via video or phone calls as often as needed to build relationships, strategize, create work plans and provide support for its members.

 

As we progress towards the UPR in November continued advocacy is critical.  Through Working Groups you can organize to target your advocacy. USHRN has tools to help you learn which countries are most likely to advocate for your issues based on their past UPR recommendations or their own policies and priorities.  You will then reach out to representatives from those countries and provide them with key information that they can question the U.S. government about during the review.

 

Create a 1-page document on your issue(s) of interest for your working group to give to government representatives at the embassies and missions. Providing this information will ensure that your issues are brought to their attention.

 

In order to join a Working Group please contact the Working Group Chair AND CC the UPR Coordinator
Kerry McLean: kmclean@ushrnetwork.org.

 

Artificial Intelligence

Chair: Donna Murray, donnamurraydesignconcepts@yahoo.com

Children's Rights

Chair: Julia Perez, julia.ecl.perez@hotmail.com

Briefing Documents: View Here

Criminal Justice

Chairs: Jamil Dakwar, ACLU, jdakwar@aclu.orgNadia Ben-Youssef, nbenyoussef@ccrjustice.org

Briefing Documents: View Here, Here,and Here

Additional Materials: UN Briefing and Follow-Up Statement

Decolonization

Chairs: Dominic Latty, dclatty@gmail.com; Genevieve Whitaker, genwhitaker4humanity@gmail.com 
 

Education

Chair: Ramon Montano, ramon@montanomarquez.com

Equality and Non-Discrimination

Chair: Natalie Collier, ncollier@loveblackgirls.org

Health 

Chair: Mary Gerisch, marygerisch@gmail.com

Housing, Water & Sanitation

Chairs: Eric Tars, etars@nlchp.org and Rob Robinson, rob.robinson423@gmail.com
Briefing Documents: View Here, Here, Here, and Here

Immigration

Chair: Eduardo Canales, ecsouthtexashumanrights@gmail.com

Information Access
Chairs: Rebecca Hankins, rhankins@tamu.eduPaula Buchanan, Paula_buchanan@tulanealumni.net

National Human Rights Cities Alliance
Chairs: Jackie Smith, jackie@mayfirst.org; Joshua Cooper, joshuacooperhawaii@gmail.com
 

People of African Descent

Chair: Vickie Casanova-Willis, vickie.casanova@yahoo.com

Briefing Documents: View Here, Here and Here

Additional Materials: UN Briefing and Follow-Up Statement

Police Violence
Chair: Crista Noel, cnoel@thewapb.org

Briefing Document:  View Here

Additional Materials: UN Briefing and Follow-Up Statement

Sex Workers' Rights

Chairs: 
Penelope Saunders, bestpracticespolicyproject@gmail.comMonica Jones, theoutlawprojectinc@gmail.com
Briefing Document: View Here

Sexual & Gender Rights

Chair: Ricci Joy Levy, ricci@woodhullfoundation.org

Voting Rights

Chair: Jeanne Mirer, jmirer@mmsjlaw.com 

Briefing Document: View Here

Women's Rights

Chair: Denice Labertew, feministadvocate1@gmail.com
Briefing Document: View Here

Workers' Rights

Chair: Mary Gerisch, marygerisch@gmail.com

Briefing Document: View Here