Working Groups

 

Issue Area Working Groups allow human rights defenders to work collectively by sharing information, working on joint projects, and pooling resources and information to robustly engage in a process to protect human rights in the United States. Working Groups meet (via video or phone calls) as often as needed to relationship-build, strategize, create work plans, and provide support for its members.

 

In order to join a Working Group, please contact the Working Group Coordinator and be sure to Cc coordinator@ushrnetwork.org.

 

Access to Legal Systems

Access to Legal Systems

Facilitator: 

Naureen Shah (ACLU), naureen.shah@gmail.com

Facilitator: 

Naureen Shah (ACLU), naureen.shah@gmail.com

Children's Rights

Facilitator: 

Stephanie Franklin (Franklin Law Group), sfranklin@franklinlaw.us

Description coming soon.

Facilitators: macfiar@gmail.com

Mary Gerisch (Vermont Workers Center), marygerisch@gmail.com

Suraj Madoori (Treatment Action Group), smadoori@gmail.com

The Working Group on Health Issues will cover topics including: psychiatric issues, reproductive health issues, Medicaid expansion issues, lack of healthcare for immigrants issues, and healthcare as a human right issues.

Housing

Facilitators: 

Eugene Stanley (The Big Heart Project), navyveteran1986@gmail.com

Eric Tars (National Law Center on Homelessness and Poverty), etars@nlchp.org

The Working Group on Housing will cover topics including: human right to housing issues, criminalization of homelessness issues, public housing issues, and homelessness issues.

Immigration

The Working Group on Immigration will cover topics including: immigrant rights, border security, detention, and asylum.

Indigenous Peoples

Facilitator: 
June Lorenzo (Women's International Study Center), junellorenzo@aol.com

Description coming soon.

Information Access

Facilitators:

Rebecca Hankins (Texas A&M University), rhankins@tamu.edu

Paula Buchanan (Jacksonville State University), paula_buchanan@tulanealumni.net

Description coming soon.

LGBTQ

Facilitator needed. Please contact Salimah Hankins (US Human Rights Network) to become a facilitator, shankins@ushrnetwork.org

Description coming soon.

National Security

Facilitator:

Dr. Maha Hilal (Institute for Policy Studies), innocentuntilprovenmuslim@gmail.com

Description coming soon.

Police Violence & Racial Discrimination

Facilitator:

Nicole Robinson (Dream Defenders), kuchkuchhotahain111@gmail.com

The Working Group on Police Violence and Racial Discrimination will cover topics including: profiling, disparate sentencing, stand your ground laws, voting rights, unequal access to legal counsel, DV issues, and disability rights.

Political Participation & State Violence

Facilitators: 

Vickie Casanova (US Human Rights Network Board Member), vickie.casanova@yahoo.com

Standish Willis (The National Conference of Black Lawyers), swillis818@aol.com

Description coming soon.

Facilitator: 

Amy Berquist (The Advocates for Human Rights), aberquist@advrights.org

The Working Group for Prisoners Rights will cover topics including: incarceration and death penalty issues for adults and children, inhumane treatment issues privatization issues, and military prison issues.

Sex Workers' Rights

Facilitator: 

Penelope Saunders (Best Practices Policy Project), bestpracticespolicyproject@gmail.com

The Sex Workers' Rights Working Group prioritizes the voices of sex workers, welcomes supportive allies, and works intersectionally to recall and honor the history of previous work on sex worker rights and the UPR and build on that history for future UPRs. The focus of our input in this group is to raise issues of importance to sex workers, in particular low-income sex workers, trans and gender-queer communities, immigrants, people of color, youth, indigenous sex workers, and street sex workers.

Sexual Rights & Gender Justice

Facilitators:

Ricci Levy (Woodhull Freedom Foundation), ricci@woodhullfoundation.org

Tonya Williams (SPARK Reproductive Justice), tonyamwilliams@gmail.com

Description coming soon.

Students & Education

Facilitator:

Ramon Montano (Independent Affiliation), ramonmontano@gmail.com

The Working Group on Students and Education will cover topics including: freedom of expression, the right to education from pre-school through college, and the right to cultural education and cultural expression within education.

UPR Cities

Local governments have jurisdiction over a range of human rights issues, including those related to housing, education, employment, and criminal justice. Mayors, local governments, and organized communities are particularly well-situated to advance human rights and build a culture of human rights based on dignity, freedom from discrimination, and opportunity. The UPR process can help focus our organizing efforts in cities and communities and help build a broad constituency of human rights defenders working to “bring human rights home.” The UPR cities working group will work to help strengthen cooperation across communities and to better realize the possibilities for using international processes like the UPR to strengthen local work for people-centered human rights.

US Illegal Sanctions

Facilitator:

Susan Scott, syscott@sonic.net

Description coming soon.

Voting Rights

Facilitator:

Jeanne Mirer, jmirer@mmsjlaw.com 

Description coming soon.

Access to Justice

Coordinator:

Eugene (Gene) Fidell, eugene.fidell@yale.edu

Artificial Intelligence

Coordinator:

Donna Murray, donnamurraydesignconcepts@yahoo.com

Children's Rights

Coordinator: 

Julia Perez, julia.ecl.perez@hotmail.com

Criminal Legal System

Coordinator:

Jamil Dakwar, ACLU, jdakwar@aclu.org

Decolonization

Coordinators: 

Dominic Latty, dclatty@gmail.com
Genevieve Whitaker, gwhitaker@viyouth.org

Climate Change

Seeking a coordinator; email coordinator@ushrnetwork.org if you are interested in joining this Working Group or becoming the Working Group Coordinator.

Equality and Non-Discrimination

Coordinator:

Farah Tanis (Black Women's Blueprint), ftanis@blueprintny.org

Environment

Coordinator:

Fianna MacGregor, macfiar@gmail.com

Health Issues

Coordinator: 

Mary Gerisch (Vermont Workers Center), marygerisch@gmail.com

Housing

Coordinator: 

Eric Tars (National Law Center on Homelessness and Poverty), etars@nlchp.org

Eugene Stanley (The Big Heart Project), navyveteran1986@gmail.comtestify2un@gmail.com

Immigration, Borders, and Trafficking

Seeking a coordinator. Please email coordinator@ushrnetwork.org if you are interested in becoming the working group coordinator.

Indigenous Peoples

Coordinator: 
June Lorenzo (Women's International Study Center), junellorenzo@aol.com

Information Access

Seeking a coordinator; email coordinator@ushrnetwork.org if you are interested in joining this Working Group or becoming the Working Group Coordinator.

LGBTQ Rights

Coordinator:

M Valladolid, mvalladolid2001@gmail.com

National Human Rights Cities Alliance

Coordinators:

Jackie Smith, jackie@mayfirst.org

Joshua Cooper, joshuacooperhawaii@gmail.com

National Security

Coordinator:

Dr. Maha Hilal (Institute for Policy Studies), innocentuntilprovenmuslim@gmail.com

Police Violence & Racial Discrimination

Coordinator:

Nicole Robinson (Dream Defenders), kuchkuchhotahain111@gmail.com

Political Participation & State Violence

Coordinators: 

Vickie Casanova (US Human Rights Network Board Member), vickie.casanova@yahoo.com

Standish Willis (The National Conference of Black Lawyers), swillis818@aol.com

Ricci Levy (The Woodhull Freedom Foundation), ricci@woodhullfoundation.org

Penelope Saunders (Best Practices Policy Project), bestpracticespolicyproject@gmail.com

Political Prisoners

Seeking a coordinator; email coordinator@ushrnetwork.org if you are interested in joining this Working Group or becoming the Working Group Coordinator.

Seniors, Elderly, and Disabled

Coordinator: 

Janet Parker, medicalwhistleblower@gmail.com

Sex Workers' Rights

Coordinator: 

Penelope Saunders (Best Practices Policy Project), bestpracticespolicyproject@gmail.com

Sexual Rights & Gender Justice

Coordinator:

Ricci Levy (Woodhull Freedom Foundation), ricci@woodhullfoundation.org

Students & Education

Coordinator:

Emilio Galvan, emiliogalvan183@gmail.com

UPR Cities

Coordinator:

Jackie Smith (University of Pittsburgh), jgsmith@pitt.edu

US Illegal Sanctions

Coordinator:

Susan Scott, syscott@sonic.net

Voting Rights

Coordinator:

Jeanne Mirer, jmirer@mmsjlaw.com 

Women and Gender Rights

Coordinators: 

Fianna MacGregor, mamajunenetwork@gmail.com

Denice Labertew, feministadvocate1@gmail.com

Workers' Rights

Coordinator: 

Mary Gerisch (Vermont Workers Center), marygerisch@gmail.com

(404) 588-9761

250 Georgia Ave. SE, Ste. 330, Atlanta, GA 30312
All photos on this page are courtesy of Balthazar Beckett.